Travel Update: Growth and discipline lead to change for Alpha Eta Chapter

15 Byline Kyle

As I sit down to write this travel update, the one word that keeps coming to mind is discipline. Discipline should be present in every aspect of life, even more so as Christians. Over the last few months, I have made significant effort to change the kinds of foods that I eat. What has been amazing about this though, is that it has affected every area of my life; physically, mentally, emotionally and most importantly, spiritually. The greatest catalyst to sustained change has been the development of a culture of discipline in my life.

1 Corinthians 9:27 says, “But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching I myself should be disqualified.” As Christians, we are called to lead lives of discipline. How Paul addresses the Corinthians as well as the Ephesians (Eph 6:4) and Titus (Titus 1:8) lays this out evidently. I say all this to make note of the change in culture and discipline that I have seen at Clemson University.

Throughout the last three months, I have seen the chapter leadership take initiative in trying to create a culture of discipline, service and accountability. From last semester’s visit to this, the feeling I got when I walked in the chapter room was strikingly¬†different. What made this evident to me was that the membership was in full support of their officers. Whether through recruitment, putting forth effort in organizing social and outreach events or building each other up as brothers, it is clear that Clemson has a firm grasp on the national vision of BYX and is working in united manner to grow their ability to impact their campus.

Each discussion over the three days in Clemson served as an encouragement as well as an indicator of both growth and direction. I genuinely love my time spent with these men. Their love for this fraternity shows in how they serve each other on a daily basis, rally around each other in difficult times and how they are reaching their campus. I cannot wait to see them again in the fall and observe the fruits of their continued growth and discipline.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

