Alumni Spotlight: SMU founders sharpened for future trials through adversity of founding Mu Chapter

Christopher Hill
SMU BYX Alumnus

When I made my decision to leave my first college, Tabor College, I thought that Southern Methodist University (SMU), being a Methodist university, would surely have a Christian fraternity. In 2002, SMU was about 75 percent Greek, so I was excited about pledging a Christian Fraternity to start my new life at SMU. What I found when I got to SMU was a totally different story.

What I didn’t know was that some Christian men, led by Kurt Schuster and Japheth Broeg, were in the process of bringing together a group of men that would eventually become a chapter of BYX. Their vision was for this chapter of BYX to become a ministry to reach Christian men on campus, solidify their relationship with Jesus Christ and to glorify His name on a secular campus.

FallPledge2At this point, I feel I need to mention that Southern Methodist University is actually a secular campus. There is still a seminary on campus, but that is as Christian or Methodist as the campus gets. As Japheth and Kurt grew their group, which was initially named Christian Brotherhood @ SMU, to a solid number in the Spring of 2002, I was able to join these men in the fall of 2002 to assist and push for the chapter of BYX. As we pushed hard to become a BYX chapter, we also found it hard to change the SMU bylaws for a charter on the campus. We faced many of the same challenges that other BYX chapters faced when it comes to starting BYX as a Christian group exclusively for men.

During this time, with outside forces outside our gates, we found the 16 founding fathers of the Mu Chapter were growing closer together. Through studying God’s Word, cell groups, putting on Island Party, hosting a formal and going on a BYX retreat, we were growing together and growing more in love with Christ. It seemed that a common goal of becoming a probationary chapter and trying to change the bylaws of the campus gave us our foundation, and putting on these events with Christ as the center drew us towards each other. As iron sharpens iron, the Lord put obstacles in our way to make us stronger.

When I look back at that time, I believe God put us in those positions to grow a strong group of Christian men who were ready, able and willing to take on the world as it is instead of the world as we would want it to be.

When I look back at that time, I believe God put us in those positions to grow a strong group of Christian men who were ready, able and willing to take on the world as it is instead of the world as we would want it to be. Much like Paul’s sentiments toward the Corinthian church about beating his body to keep it under control, the Lord was challenging us, beating our spiritual bodies into submission to Him. When we left SMU and our immediate BYX family, we were prepared to fight for the truth of in all areas and aspects of our lives.

I thank God for my time with BYX, even though it was only 2 years. I learned much about life as a Christian and about how to share my life with other men who would hold me accountable. I learned how to share the truth of the Gospel without being overbearing or confrontational and to instead be loving and honest about where we, as Christians, stand.

As men of BYX, we must understand that we carry the standard of Christ where ever we go. We are the ambassadors to a fallen world that may never have another look into what a true Christian community looks like or feels like. We must be the shining example on a hill. Just as the Lord saw us through our early days as a chapter, surely God will be just as faithful to see us through difficult times in our lives.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

