Friday Devotional: The Face of Jesus in Brotherhood and Unity

Blog-Byline-DeanBeta Upsilon Chi exists for the purpose of establishing brotherhood and unity among college men based on the common bond of Christ. But what does that look like? And how does it lend to our ministry?

The obvious answer is that the sharpening that takes place within BYX equips men to show a college campus what a godly man looks like. This is absolutely true and ever so important. I’m going to focus on the intrinsic value of brotherhood and unity, however, as its impact may not be quite as apparent.

In my time in BYX at the University of Florida, I experienced a brotherhood the likes of which I’d never imagined. I was surrounded by a cloud of men who loved me like TCU loves punting, and that was on display every day. These were men who drove 50 miles down I-75 to pick me up when I got a flat tire, stayed up until 4 a.m. talking to me when I needed to, drove me to campus when I woke up 10 minutes before class and showed me grace when I failed them.

Dean FormalBrothers from The University of Georgia (Bulldogs) showed me (a Gator) hospitality when I traveled up there to visit for their Island Party. Mizzou BYX guys I’d hardly met provided me places to stay and places to eat all across the Midwest on my drive to Colorado for BYX Summit Ski Week.

My third little bro, Larry Davis, waited with me in the ER overnight for 12-and-a-half hours while I was being checked out for a serious lower back injury. After all the scans and medications, the doctor told me to lie down for a month, and that crushed this former athlete, but Larry was there the entire time to talk to me, make me laugh and even carry me to the bathroom because I couldn’t support my own weight.

And it didn’t stop there, of course. While I was unable to walk on my own for weeks, I always had brothers at my house, those who lived there and those who didn’t, making sure I was tended to. They literally carried me from place to place, they fed me, they prayed for me and they made it easy to rejoice rather than sulk.

You see, Jesus tells us of the importance of loving one another as brothers and sisters in Christ.

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” – John 13:34-35

These testimonies turn heads and these testimonies are what show the world that we are disciples of Christ.

“I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one— I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.” – John 17:22-23

By the love we share as Christians, as Brothers Under Christ, the world will know that God sent Jesus and that he loves the crap out of them. The implication is huge. Do not miss the opportunity you have to show Jesus to the world simply by loving your brothers in a Christ-like way.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑