Nationals Visits LSU

By Robert Bember
Senior Communications Advisor

<!– /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:Cambria; panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:auto; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:3 0 0 0 1 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin-top:0in; margin-right:0in; margin-bottom:10.0pt; margin-left:0in; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:Cambria; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} –A certain degree of physical, mental and spiritual preparation must go into each chapter visit we go on. Much of this pre-trip regimen centered around priming my body for a full-on Cajun onslaught from the many glorious dining establishments that Baton Rouge has to offer during my visit to the Psi Chapter at LSU.

My trip got off to a great start before it began. President Nathan Macaluso and the officer team pieced together a polished schedule for my visit. He had his men communicate with the person following them in the schedule about locations, and everyone showed up promptly for their meeting. Throughout my visit, the brothers’ attention to detail helped me to feel valued and respected. Little things went a long way in this case.

Pledge Captain Alex Rodriguez picked me up from the Baton Rouge airport, and we proceeded to swap testimonies and talk pledgeship over arguably the best root beer I’ve ever had at Frostop in Baton Rouge. Alex, who’s lovingly called “daddy” and “papi” by his pledges, would take a bullet for those guys. He loves them deeply, and they seem to return the sentiment. The spring class consists of 14 pledges who have wasted no time in building a strong bond as brothers. I can’t wait to see what Alex and the officers do with the fall pledge class, which is historically the more successful rush semester for the Psi Chapter.

Throughout my meetings with the officers, I saw a newfound energy and sense of unity that pours down to the rest of the chapter. I loved hearing the ideas that the officer corps has developed and the high praise that each officer heaped on each other.

After grabbing a bite to eat with Treasurer Sam Pitre at The Chimes (I’ve been there on each of my six visits to Baton Rouge), we walked down the street to the Wesley Foundation for chapter. The brothers threw down in a heated game of family feud. The game featured no shortage of answers that made me scratch my head.

Following chapter, I inflicted further damage upon my body by enjoying beignets at Coffee Call with Nathan and brother James Prohaska. We chatted about Greek Life on LSU’s campus and where BYX fits into that picture. The officers have taken steps to get their foot in the door and continue to explore more avenues into LSU’s Greek system.

On Tuesday afternoon, brother Chas Kelly treated Vice President Solomon Scichowski and I to a tour of Tiger Stadium. We wandered through the weight room and outside of the empty locker room, taking in all the little details of the area.

Above the door to the tunnel that the team takes to the field hangs an old piece of goal post with the word “win” on it. I slapped the goalpost, as is tradition, and attempted to place a little curse on it. LSU opens up against my beloved TCU Horned Frogs in Cowboys Stadium in August. I had to do my part to try to ensure victory.

As we came out of the tunnel, I visualized what it would be like to do so on game day in the home colors in front of nearly 100,000 screaming fans. Unreal. We meandered around the outside of the field, taking in the mountain of bleachers before checking out the club level and the press boxes. As an avid college football fan, I won’t soon forget my opportunity to check out one of the most famous (or infamous) stadiums in the game.

I enjoyed another one of my loves with brother Korey Jarrach: baseball. During a scheduled lull in my visit, Korey and I threw the baseball around the parade grounds. A few other brothers dropped by to hang out with us. We discussed the possibility of sneaking me into the brothers’ intramurals softball game that night, but I opted to watch the men bring home a W with Nathan and Solomon. I’m not used to the view from the bleachers, but I enjoyed seeing the men scratch out a victory.

I met up with the officer team before the softball game at Walk-On’s, another local favorite and chapter visit staple.  The meal with the officers further confirmed to me that the officers of the Psi Chapter have a great chemistry going right now. Each officer seems up-to-speed on the happenings of each other’s lives. On top of that, they’re just a ton of fun to be around.

Sam picked me up to take me to the airport on Wednesday morning. While in the car, I received another text from Nathan making sure I had been picked up on time. Of course I was. I told Nathan that he could take a breath because I would finally be out of his hair and he no longer had to check up on my whereabouts. The Psi Chapter took great care of me. If their diligence in planning my visit serves as any indication for what they have in store over the rest of their tenure as officers, the Psi Chapter is on the cusp of taking huge steps forward.
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

